Slot Pole Study of Field Excitation Flux Switching Machines Using Segmental Rotor and Non-Overlap Windings

  • Abstract
  • Keywords
  • References
  • PDF
  • Abstract

    Field excitation flux switching machines (FEFSMs) in which their torque performance generated by interaction between armature and field excitation (FE) coils have been widely designed and developed for various applications. In this regard, FEFSM with salient rotor is considered the most suitable candidate for high speed applications because of their advantages of flux controllability, and robust due to single piece of rotor structure. However, the existing FEFSM with overlapped armature and FEC windings lead to increment of copper loss, motor size and material cost. In addition, the declination of torque and power densities due to high rotor weight needs to be improved. In this paper, performance comparisons of four FEFSM topologies particularly emphasis on non-overlap armature coil and FEC windings placed on the stator with segmental rotor are investigated. The performances, including flux linkage, back-emf, flux strengthening, flux line, flux distribution, cogging torque, torque and power of the proposed motor are analysed and compared using 2D finite element analysis (FEA) thru JMAG Designer version 15. As a result, segmental rotor has produced shorter flux paths, while non-overlapping windings has reduced the copper consumption. Finally, the best combination of stator slot-pole configurations is 12S-6P which provide high flux linkage, high torque and power of 0.0412 Wb, 0.77 Nm and 0.26 kW, respectively.


  • Keywords

    Slot pole study; Single-phase; Flux switching machine; Field excitation; Segmental rotor; Non-overlap windings

  • References

      [1] J. H. Walker, “The theory of the inductor alternator,” J. IEE, vol.89, no.9, June 1942, pp.227-241.

      [2] T. J. E. Miller, “Switched Reluctance Machines and Their Control”, Hillsboro, OH: Magna Physics, 1993.

      [3] S. E. Rauch and L. J. Johnson, “Design principles of flux-switching alternators,” AIEE Trans. 74III, pp. 1261-1268, 1955.

      [4] H. Pollock, C. Pollock, R. T. Walter, and B. V. Gorti, “Low cost, high power density, flux switching machines and drives for power tools,” in Conf. Rec. IEEE IAS Annu. Meeting, 2003, pp. 1451–1457.

      [5] C. Pollock, H. Pollock, R. Barron, J. R. Coles, D. Moule, A. Court, and R. Sutton, “Flux-switching motors for automotive applications,” IEEE Trans. Ind. Appl., vol. 42, no. 5, pp. 1177–1184, Sep./Oct. 2006.

      [6] Y. J. Zho, and Z. Q. Zhu “Comparison of low-cost single-phase wound-field switched-flux machines” Electric Machines & Drives Conference (IEMDC), 2013 IEEE International, 2013, pp. 1275 – 1282.

      [7] Z. Q. Zhu, “Switched flux permanent magnet machines: Innovation continues”, in Proc. Int. Conf. on Electrical Machines and Systems (ICEMS), 2011, pp.1-10.

      [8] Zhou, Y. J., Zhu, Z. Q., “Comparison of low-cost single-phase wound-field switched-flux machines”, IEEE Trans. on Ind. Appl., vol. 50, no. 5, pp. 3335-3345, Sept/Oct. 2014.

      [9] E. Sulaiman, T. Kosaka, and N. Matsui, “Design optimization and performance of a novel 6-slot 5-pole PMFSM with hybrid excitation for hybrid electric vehicle”, IEEJ Trans. Ind. Appl., vol. 132, no. 2, Jan 2012, pp. 211-218.

      [10] E. Sulaiman, M. F. M. Teridi, Z. A. Husin, M. Z. Ahmad, and T. Kosaka, “Performance comparison of 24S-10P and 24S-14P field excitation flux switching machine with single DC-coil polarity”, IEEE Int. Power Engineering and Optimization Conference, June 2013, pp. 46-51.

      [11] Yu Chuang, Niu Shuangxia, Ho. S. L., Fu. W. N., “Magnetic Circuit Analysis for a Magnetless Double-Rotor Flux Switching Motor”, IEEE Trans. on Magn., vol. 51, no. 11, Nov. 2015, pp. 1-5.

      [12] Sulaiman E., Khan F., Omar M. F., Romalan G. M., Jenal M., “Optimal Design of Wound-Field Flux Switching Machines for an All-Electric boat” International Conference on Electrical Machines (ICEM), Sept. 2016, pp. 2464-2470.




Article ID: 15333
DOI: 10.14419/ijet.v7i2.23.15333

Copyright © 2012-2015 Science Publishing Corporation Inc. All rights reserved.